Hestia

It was an absolute honour to be welcomed to participate in the Hestia Festival last weekend. Hestia being a queer led DIY creative community. They created a very special safe space within which I was invited to run a workshop entitled “How can we respond to the genocide in Palestine”. See below Ale’s notes from the workshop. A big shout out to Idit Nathan who allowed me to reference her amazing work about Palestine, including this very moving piece,

https://www.iditnathan.org.uk/dont-look-away-now

Also thank you to Asim for his work on deconstructing flags

See below, some of my work that I referred to in the workshop, including a new piece of writing

Al Badawi
Kefiyah

My pen should be a knife

My pen should be a knife

Cutting into and tearing the page apart

The ink should be black and blotchy

The ink should be red and running

Smudged and smeared with the rain

Of tears, missiles, bullets

My words should jump up, out, off and on

Each one should be named and numbered

I should never be the same again.

One reply to “Hestia

Leave a comment

close-alt close collapse comment ellipsis expand gallery heart lock menu next pinned previous reply search share star